Floodplain Management

The Building Division is responsible for regulating development within the city’s floodplains based on the standards established by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) development permits are required for all development in the SFHA.

“Development” is defined in Title 44 of the Code of Federal Regulations as “any man-made change to improved or unimproved real estate.” Based on this definition, the following activities are subject to floodplain regulation:

  • Construction of new structures
  • Modifications or improvements to existing structures
  • Excavation
  • Filling
  • Paving
  • Drilling
  • Driving of piles
  • Mining
  • Dredging
  • Land clearing
  • Grading
  • Permanent storage of materials and/or equipment

Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRMs) are the official documents used in determining whether a parcel or structure is located within a Special Flood Hazard Area.

  • The division is the repository for local FIRMs.
  • These maps determine requirements and rates for flood insurance.

Paper copies of the maps, along with Letters of Map Change issued by the Federal Emergency Management Agency are kept on file in the division office.

PDF versions of the maps are available for download below.