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The mission of the Grove City Division of Police is to 
serve and protect all, by providing professional law 

enforcement services in partnership with the community.

Police.GroveCityOhio.gov

bit.ly/GCPDNextdoor

facebook.com/GroveCityOhioPolice

twitter.com/GroveCityPolice

instagram.com/GroveCityPolice

important numbers
EMERGENCY: 9-1-1

Police Non-emergency: 614-277-1710

Crime Prevention: 614-277-1765

Anonymous Tipline: 614-277-1808

Detective Bureau/Narcotics:  614-277-1750

Grove City
Division of

POLICE

Find your neighborhood’s criminal 
activity on the Crime Mapping tool at 

Police.GroveCityOhio.gov.
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Curfew
Curfew for minors (under the age of 18) is midnight to 
4:30 a.m. The presence of an adult is no defense to a 
violation of the law. Accompaniment of a minor out after 
hours must be by parent or guardian or one vested with 
parental authority by law. 

Permitting A Minor to Violate the Curfew 
Law
Parents/guardians who permit minors to violate the 
curfew law may be charged with neglect. Parents can be 
sued for giving alcohol to anyone under 21 years of age 
who, in turn, hurt someone or damage property.

Driving
No minor who has held a probationary driver’s license 
for less than 12 months shall operate a motor vehicle 
between the hours of midnight to 6 a.m. and no minor 
who has held a probationary driver’s license for 12 
months or longer shall operate a motor vehicle between 
the hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m., unless the driver is 
accompanied by a parent or guardian or the minor is 
traveling to or from work, an official school function or 
an official religious event and is carrying the required 
documentation.

Liability of Parents for Destructive Acts or 
Theft by Their Children
Parents/guardians may be liable for the destructive act or 
act of theft by their children in an amount up to $10,000.

Wrongful Influence
Any person who aids, abets, influences or encourages 
any child under the age of 18 years of age to violate any 
law may be charged with wrongful influence of a minor.

Unruly Child
Parents of a child who frequently runs away, does not 
attend school, and/or does not obey the rules of the 
home, can find help by contacting:

Franklin County Family Assessment Department 
373 South High Street, 4th Floor 
Columbus, OH 43215..................................................614-525-4460

Youth
And The

LAW



State Law on Drinking Age 
For the purpose of alcohol consumption, a minor is 
defined as a person under the age of 18 years and an 
“underage person” is defined as anyone under 21 years  
of age. 

The Facts About Underage Drinking 
A driver under 21 with a blood alcohol concentration 
(BAC) of at least .02% but less than .08% can be charged 
with underage drinking and driving. A person convicted of 
operating a vehicle after underage consumption (OVI) may 
receive the following penalties: 

•	 A license suspension ranging from 90 days up to two 
years. 

•	 No fewer than four points will be assessed to the 
offender’s driving record.

Using a Fake ID
A person under the age of 21 convicted of presenting 
a false, fictitious or altered ID or driver’s license when 
purchasing beer or liquor will receive the following 
penalties:

•	 First Offense: Mandatory fine of $250-$1,000 and jail 
time up to six months.

•	 Second Offense: Mandatory fine of $500-$1,000 
and jail time up to six months and possible license 
suspension of up to one year.

Possession
No underage person shall knowingly order, pay for, share 
the cost of, attempt to purchase, possess or consume any 
beer or intoxicating liquor in any public or private place. 
Additionally, no underage person shall knowingly be 
under the influence of any beer or intoxicating liquor in 
any public place.

This shall not apply if the underage person is supervised 
by a parent or spouse who is not an underage person, or 
legal guardian, or the beer or intoxicating liquor is given by 
a physician in the regular line of the physician’s practice or 
given for established religious purposes.

Purchasing
No underage person shall purchase beer or intoxicating 
liquor. 

Furnishing Alcohol to an Underage Person
No person shall buy for, sell or furnish beer or intoxicating 
liquor to a minor. 

Permitting A Minor to Violate the Alcohol Law
No parent or legal guardian shall knowingly permit 
violations of the provisions listed in this pamphlet. 

Allowing Underage Persons to Drink at Your 
Residence
No owner or occupant of any property located within the 
City of Grove City shall knowingly allow any underage 
person to remain on such property while consuming 
intoxicating liquor or beer, unless it is given by a parent/
guardian, and that parent/guardian is present at the time of 
possession and consumption. 

Minor Alcohol Consumption in Connection 
with Hotel Accommodations
No person shall engage accommodations at a hotel, motel, 
inn, campground or other hostelry under circumstances 
in which he/she knows or has reason to know that 
intoxicating liquor, beer or drugs of abuse will be used by 
underage persons on the premises. The only defense of this 
section in which alcohol is involved is if the person who 
engaged such accommodations is the parent/guardian of 
ALL such underage persons. 

What Parents Should Know 
Parents cannot give alcohol to friends of their children 
under 21 years of age under any circumstances, 
including in their own home, even with the other 
parents’ permission.

Prevention Is the Key
•	 Talk to your children about alcohol and the law.
•	 Be at home when your children have a party and 

don’t provide alcohol or allow drinking. 
•	 Call the Grove City Division of Police at  

614-277-1710 if you know of underage persons 
consuming alcohol.

•	 To report anyone selling alcohol to persons 
under 21 years of age, call the Ohio Investigative 
Unit’s Columbus Enforcement Office under the 
Department of Public Safety at 1-877-4MINORS or 
614-644-2413; or the Grove City Division of Police at 
614-277-1710. 

•	 REMEMBER: Mile for mile, teenagers are 
involved in three times as many fatal crashes as 
all other drivers.

CAR CRASHES ARE THE LEADING CAUSE 
OF DEATH FOR TEENAGERS. UNDERAGE 

DRINKING AND DRIVING IS A MAJOR 
CONTRIBUTING FACTOR. 

Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration


